30 Lumpkin Street , Ste. A | Lawrenceville, Georgia 30046
Stepp Law, Attorneys and Counselors at Law
Call For A Consultation 678-987-8490

DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer Lawrenceville

Driving under the influence/driving while intoxicated (DUI/DWI)

Georgia law makes it a crime to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above the following levels:

  • Drivers over 21: 0.08% (0.08 grams alcohol per 100 milliliters blood)
  • Drivers under 21: 0.02% (0.02 grams alcohol per 100 milliliters blood)

Once you are charged with a DUI/DWI, your license can be suspended — even before you are convicted — for up to one year under a process called “Administrative License Suspension.” To make sure you get the best possible defense, rely on Stepp Law.

What type of substances can lead to a DUI/DWI?

Alcohol and illegal drugs such as marijuana and cocaine are typically thought of as the main causes of DUI/DWI charges; however, prescription and over-the-counter medications may also lead to such charges if they impair your ability to drive. You may be stopped if a police officer observes that your ability to drive is affected.

What happens during a suspected DUI/DWI stop?

If a police officer suspects that you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you may be stopped and asked to take a breath analysis (“Breathalyzer”), urine or blood alcohol test. You may refuse to take the test; however, a refusal will result in automatic suspension of your license and may be used against you in a subsequent DUI/DWI trial. Stepp Law criminal attorneys are available to help you understand your rights if you are stopped on suspicion of DUI/DWI.

What happens if I am convicted?

If you are convicted of a DUI/DWI offense, you may be subject to the following:

  • License suspension or revocation: Your license may be suspended up to three years or may be revoked if it is a third offense.
  • Jail time: You may be sentenced to jail for a period ranging from 10 days to one year, depending on if this is your first or a subsequent offense.
  • Community service: You will be required to do community service for a minimum of 40 hours to 30 days.
  • Fines: You may be fined anywhere from $300 to $5,000, depending on any previous offenses.

Having an experienced legal team like Stepp Law help defend your DUI/DWI case from the outset can help you avoid a conviction and severe penalties.

Contact our Lawrenceville DUI/DWI defense lawyer for a free initial phone consultation

We have significant courtroom experience as DUI attorneys in Lawrenceville, and we will aggressively pursue your case. With our flexible office hours, we work hard to accommodate our Duluth and Lawrenceville area clients. Call Stepp Law at 678-987-8490 or contact us online to speak with our experienced criminal defense attorneys.

Contact Form
X

Contact Form

Please fill out the form below to contact the firm or call our office at 678-987-8490 to make an appointment.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.